Matt Mendez

Photo by Chris Summitt.

Matt Mendez writes beautifully crafted stories, creating characters with clarity and worlds that are full, rich, and powerful.

His stories have appeared in Alligator Juniper, Cutthroat, Huizache, PALABRA, PANK, The Literary Review and other journals. He writes regular reviews for the El Paso Times.

He was the winner of Alligator Juniper’s National Fiction Contest, a finalist for The Ohio State University Prize in Short Fiction and the Charles Angoff Award, and a is a three-time Pushcart Prize nominee.

Twitching Heart is his first book.  He is currently working on a novel.